[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Cogent & FDCServers: Knowingly aiding and abetting fraud and theft?

Ronald F. Guilmette wrote:

> If possible, it would be Good if APNIC could also make contact with the
> rightful owners of the following additional 3 Japanese blocks,

Because whois contact information is, seemingly by acquisition
and relocation, obsolete, it should be impossible for APNIC
to do so.

> I tried to make contact myself with the legit owners of all of the above,
> but found it to be quite difficult.  The registered owner of the first
> one appears to have gone into hiding on a remote island someplace.

 From whois information:

    remarks:        reg-date:    1993-03-22

    notify:         tmiyoko at gaijin.co.jp
    mnt-by:         MNT-ERX-CROSFIELDELE-NON-JP
    last-modified:  2008-09-04T07:31:15Z

I guess CROSFIELDELE is Japanese branch of:

	The firm was eventually taken over by Fujifilm Japan and named
	Fujifilm Electronic Imaging, now FFEI Ltd. following a
	management buy-out in 2008.[1]

though, according to:


MBO was in 2006. In the page, we can also confirm that FFEI was
crosfield until 1997.

> Making contact with the legitimate owners of the other
> two blocks, both of which belong to Japanese corporations that are still
> very much alive, was rather difficult also, because I am only a stupid
> gaijin, and don't speak a word of Japanese.

Both relocated. I send queries to the current contact points.

Maybe, blocks with stale contact information are attacked.

							Masataka Ohta