[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

hijacking of

Looks like this incident didn't start today. I show it starting back on
2/22 at 00:31:38 UTC. It then persisted till 3/19 where it started to
get withdrawn by most peers. It wasn't until 3/20 at 19:10:10 UTC when
it was globally withdrawn from all peers that were advertising it. 

I'll be like Job and plug monitoring. Had FaleMais and/or University of
Iowa been monitoring their own prefixes as well as what they advertised
(originate in this case), this could have been stopped when it started
almost a month ago. 


On 20.03.2018 13:32, Sandra Murphy wrote: 

> You are pointing out that is the likely cause of the hijack of, right?
> (No need to be privately told - that's straight from the LACNIC Whois)
> --Sandy
> On Mar 20, 2018, at 3:40 PM, Alejandro Acosta <alejandroacostaalamo at gmail.com> wrote: Hello, Someone in Lacnog privately told me this: aut-num: AS263971 owner: FaleMais Comunicações LTDA responsible: Paulo Henrique Mem Pereira owner-c: LEVAL5 routing-c: LEVAL5 abuse-c: LEVAL5 created: 20150831 changed: 20150831 inetnum: inetnum: 2804:28a0::/32 inetnum: < [1]> Regards, Alejandro, El 20/3/18 a las 2:35 p. m., Jay Ford escribió: Something apparently in Brazil is hijacking, part of which is held by the University of Iowa. AS 263971 is announcing which Hurricane Electric is accepting & propagating. None of that has any authorization. I can't find any decent contact information for the originating entity, so I have reported it to abuse at he.net, but it'd be fabulous if some HE folks listening here could whack the hijacking faster than the abuse channels will get to it. Also useful
would be some functional contact for AS263971. Any help will be appreciated. ________________________________________________________________________ Jay Ford, Network Engineering Group, Information Technology Services University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA 52242 email: jay-ford at uiowa.edu, phone: 319-335-5555